Boxing Forums

User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  14
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Started boxing training again...

Share/Bookmark
    Mentioned
    121 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Started boxing training again...

Hey guys,

I got back into the boxing gym. Been away for over 10 years now. Last time I even sparred I was in the UK in Uni and I graduated in 2008. But today was my second day back and we did body-work drills in the ring. Ring rust is evident, but it was not full contact sparring yet. Was only about 30 percent of punch power in the body work drills, but I didn't get tired. I have a GREAT engine still for 45 years old... putting the younger men to shame. But, it is apparent my footwork is off and my left hook to the body is shitty. I used to be really nifty with that. But, fell in love with my jab to the body now. I want to perfect that Inoue ko of Fulton move... you know? The same one AJ put on Helenius, the jab to the body and then right back to the head. Inoue did it better because he didn't have to reset.. just jab to the body and upstairs in one motion. I feel it.... I really do.

I wish I used to get up every morning as I do now at 4am to do 3-4 miles when I was in my 20s. My prime years would have been so much more fun and easier if I did what coach told me to do years ago and that was do your road work. You can do amazing things when you do your road work.

Only thing now is the calisthenics were BRUTAL... I go to the gym after my roadwork in the morning and lift weights for about an hour, but NOTHING kicks your ass like boxing calisthenics. And we did them after we had about 8 rounds of body work drills, four rounds of heavy bag and three rounds of shadow boxing. Not to mention skipping.